Cry Father

Coming September 16, 2014 from Gallery Books in the US and early 2015 from Éditions Gallmeister in France.

Read an excerpt here, and if you like it, pre-order from your favorite retailer: S&S.comTattered CoverAmazonBooks & CompanyBooks-A-MillionBookPeopleElliott Bay BooksIndie BoundKindleiBookstoreNookPowell’s BooksSubterranean Books.

In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Larry Brown comes a haunting story about men, their fathers, their sons, and the legacy of violence.

For Patterson Wells, disaster is the norm. Working alongside dangerous, desperate, itinerant men as a tree clearer in disaster zones, he’s still dealing with the loss of his young son. Writing letters to the boy offers some solace. The bottle gives more.

Upon a return trip to Colorado, Patterson stops to go fishing with an old acquaintance, only to find him in a meth-induced delirium and keeping a woman tied up in the bathtub. In the ensuing chain of events, which will test not only his future but his past, Patterson tries to do the right thing. Still, in the lives of those he knows, violence and justice have made of each other strange, intoxicating bedfellows.

Hailed as “the next great American writer” (Frank Bill, author of Crimes in Southern Indiana), Benjamin Whitmer has crafted a literary triumph that is by turns harrowing, darkly comic, and wise.

Comments are closed.